
Founded
1847
179 years
Employees
5000+
Annual Revenue
Not Disclosed
(2026)
Products
1
Siemens Digital Industries Software (Siemens DI SW) is a business unit of Siemens AG operating under Siemens Industry Software Inc., a Delaware entity HQ at 5800 Granite Parkway, Suite 600, Plano TX 75024. The unit was formerly Siemens PLM Software and originated with Siemens AG's January 2007 acquisition of UGS Corporation for $3.5B; renamed Siemens Digital Industries Software on September 4, 2019. Parent Siemens AG is dual-HQ in Berlin and Munich, trades as SIE on Frankfurt/Xetra (ADR: SIEGY), reported ~312,000 employees as of September 30, 2024.
Siemens DI SW is a generalist industrial-software vendor with named pharma editions. Opcenter Execution Pharma is the purpose-built MES vertical (formerly SIMATIC IT eBR); Teamcenter, Opcenter APS, Opcenter Quality, Opcenter RD&L, Mendix, Insights Hub are cross-industry products with pharma configurations or templates. The DI SW entity reported ~23,800+ employees in 2025 per third-party labor-market data. All software is positioned under the Siemens Xcelerator business platform.
Acquisition history feeding the current pharma-relevant portfolio: UGS (2007), Elan Software Systems (2009), Camstar Systems (2014, life-sciences MES - basis for medical device and electronics Opcenter Execution variants), Preactor (2013, basis for Opcenter APS), Mentor Graphics (2017, $4.5B EDA), Mendix (2018, low-code), Brightly Software (2022, $1.575B + $300M earn-out - under Smart Infrastructure, not DI SW), Altair Engineering (closed March 2025, ~$10B EV, simulation/AI), Dotmatics (closed July 2025, $5.1B, life-sciences R&D software).
Generalist industrial-software vendor with named pharma editions. Publicly disclosed pharma/biotech customers in Siemens-authored or Siemens-permitted materials: BioNTech (Marburg mRNA vaccine site - Opcenter Execution Pharma + SIMATIC PCS 7; 5-month conversion vs typical 12 months); Jinyu Bio-technology (China animal vaccine digital factory - Opcenter Execution Pharma, Teamcenter, Opcenter RD&L, SIMATIC SIPAT, PCS 7); Medicines Manufacturing Innovation Centre (MMIC) Glasgow (Tecnomatix Plant Simulation + Opcenter Execution; collaborates with GSK, Pfizer, Novartis as MMIC partners - not direct Opcenter end-users via this case); NecstGen (Netherlands cell & gene therapy CDMO - Mendix); Mach Medical (orthopedic medical device contract manufacturer - Teamcenter Quality); Siemens Healthineers Tarrytown (Teamcenter). Pharma-specific customer counts not disclosed.
Pfizer, GSK, Sanofi, Bayer, Novartis, Eli Lilly, and Moderna are not named as direct Opcenter Execution Pharma deployments in any Siemens-authored reference. Third-party blogs cite these names without a corroborating Siemens source.
Regulatory expertise stated: FDA 21 CFR Part 11 and EU/GMP compliance explicitly supported in Opcenter Execution Pharma; additional support for CFDA (now NMPA) and "European regulatory bodies" stated. SIMATIC PCS 7 ships with a GMP Engineering Manual. Explicit DSCSA, ICH Q7/Q9/Q10, MHRA, PMDA, ANVISA capabilities not enumerated in primary product collateral. Siemens employees actively contribute to ISPE Pharma 4.0 Special Interest Group and BioPhorum Technology Roadmap Steering Committee. Siemens received a $1.78M FDA contract in October 2021 to showcase advanced digital design and manufacturing. No FDA Warning Letter names the platform.
Industries Served
Siemens AG fiscal 2024 (ended September 30, 2024): revenue EUR75.9B and net income EUR9.0B; ~312,000 employees (~327,000 on a continuing and discontinued basis). Digital Industries segment FY2024: orders EUR19.4B+, revenue ~EUR20.8B; profit margin declined with EUR9B order backlog at year-end (EUR6B expected to convert in FY2025). DI FY2025 guidance: revenue change of (-6)% to +1% and profit margin 15-19%. Software business demand grew while automation declined.
DI software business reported as growing ARR at average 13% YoY to EUR5.3B per the "ONE Tech Company" strategy event; total digital business reached EUR9.4B. Target: 15% average annual digital growth over five years and a doubling of digital business by 2030. Siemens stated 24,000 SaaS customers won by FY2025 (across DI SW), with ~70% new logos and nearly 90% small and medium enterprises.
Recent M&A relevant to DI SW: Altair Engineering announced October 30, 2024 at USD 113/share, ~$10B EV, closed March 26, 2025; Dotmatics announced April 2, 2025 for $5.1B from Insight Partners, closed July 1, 2025 (expected $300M+ FY2025 revenue, 40%+ adjusted EBITDA margin, +$11B industrial-software TAM expansion); Brightly Software closed August 2022 at $1.575B + $300M earn-out (under Smart Infrastructure, not DI SW).
March 18, 2025 Siemens announced 5,600 job cuts in Digital Industries (8% of segment's ~68,000 employees), of which 2,600 in Germany; 450 additional at eMobility charging unit. Cuts framed as targeting automation hardware; software business reported as continuing to grow. Implementation by end-2027.
Browse all software products offered by Siemens.
Pharma-relevant DI SW portfolio: Opcenter Execution Pharma (EX PH - pharmaceutical/life-sciences MES, formerly SIMATIC IT eBR; paperless eBR, MBR-driven execution, e-signatures, native integration with SIMATIC PCS 7 DCS and SIMATIC Batch); Opcenter Execution Process (process MES for CPG/F&B/chemicals, formerly SIMATIC IT UAPI); Opcenter Execution Medical Device and Diagnostics (eDHR); Opcenter Quality (QMS/CAQ, formerly IBS QMS Professional - ISO 9000, IATF 16949, control charts, FMEA, APQP/PPAP); Opcenter APS (advanced planning and scheduling, formerly Preactor APS); Opcenter RD&L (Specification, Formulation, Laboratory - LIMS formerly SIMATIC IT Unilab); Opcenter Intelligence (manufacturing dashboards/KPIs).
Teamcenter (PLM, with preconfigured Teamcenter X SaaS "PLM for Medical Devices" delivering DHF/DMR, UDI, hazard analysis, CAPA traceability); Teamcenter Quality (enterprise QMS module, used by Mach Medical); SIMATIC PCS 7 (DCS for pharma primary manufacturing, ships with GMP Engineering Manual); Mendix (low-code, used as extension layer for Opcenter); Insights Hub (formerly MindSphere, rebranded June 2023; IIoT under "Industrial Operations X"; deployable on Azure, AWS, Alibaba, private cloud); Tecnomatix Plant Simulation; Dotmatics platform (post-July 2025: GraphPad Prism, SnapGene, Geneious, multi-modal data management for drug-discovery R&D).
Recent releases: Opcenter Execution Pharma 2411 (Dec 2024 - added In-Process Control/At-line Testing in Operator Cockpit, TEV Packaged Business Capability), 2505 (July 2025 - integrated OEE KPIs in Operator Cockpit, PostgreSQL support, weighing/dispensing extensions); Opcenter RD&L 2410/2504/2510; Teamcenter X tiered expansion (Essentials, Standard, Advanced, Premium).
AI: Siemens Industrial Copilot (jointly developed with Microsoft Azure OpenAI Service) GA since July 2024, in use by 100+ companies; Senseye Predictive Maintenance with Maintenance Copilot on Azure; Teamcenter requirements engineering uses NLP/AI; Siemens has stated plans for an "Industrial Foundation Model" trained on technical data following Altair acquisition. Naming churn (SIMATIC IT -> Opcenter -> Camstar absorbed; MindSphere -> Insights Hub) creates documentation discontinuity for buyer due diligence.
Cloud: deep Microsoft Azure partnership (Xcelerator-as-a-Service on Azure; Industrial Copilot powered by Azure OpenAI Service; Teamcenter app on Microsoft Teams; Senseye Predictive Maintenance on Azure). AWS (Insights Hub deployable to AWS; Mendix integrates AWS Bedrock). Alibaba Cloud (Insights Hub historically deployable).
Tier-1 SI partners: Tata Consultancy Services (Premium Plus sponsor at Realize LIVE Americas 2025; co-developed Teamcenter for Medical Devices), Capgemini (Premium Plus with dedicated life-sciences demos). Deloitte, Accenture, IBM, PwC, EY are historical Siemens partners; specific 2024-2026 pharma engagements not enumerated. Pharma/Opcenter-niche SIs: ATS Global, IndX/Engineering Industries eXcellence, AG Solution, CLEVR (Mendix MOM extensions), Snic Solutions. Siemens' own services arm (Siemens Advanta and Digital Enterprise Services) is referenced; precise headcount for pharma DI SW deployments not disclosed.
Industry affiliations: Siemens employees actively contribute to ISPE Pharma 4.0 SIG and BioPhorum Technology Roadmap Steering Committee; collateral references GAMP methodologies as embedded in Opcenter Execution Pharma. Marketplace: Xcelerator portfolio available through Siemens Xcelerator marketplace; partner solutions on Microsoft Azure Marketplace via Xcelerator-as-a-Service.
Pre-built connectors: Opcenter Execution Pharma offers OPC/OPC UA client connectivity, native integration with SIMATIC PCS 7 and SIMATIC Batch, plus standard interfaces to ERP and LIMS (including Opcenter Laboratory); SAP integration runs through Teamcenter and Mendix. Specific pre-built connectors to LabWare and LabVantage are not enumerated in primary Siemens collateral.
Cloud Partners
Technology Partners
Siemens markets 24/7 customer support for Opcenter products globally. Professional services delivered through a combination of Siemens-direct teams, Siemens Advanta Consulting, and the certified partner ecosystem. User community centers on the Realize LIVE flagship conference (Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific editions; 5,000+ global attendees; 450+ sessions in Detroit Americas 2025; 350+ sessions in Amsterdam Europe 2025; 2025 Americas edition included AI demonstrations with Insights Hub).
Certification via Siemens Xcelerator Academy (60-day complimentary access included with Realize LIVE Full Conference pass) and partner certifications. Pre-configured offerings: Teamcenter X "PLM for Medical Devices" delivers DHF/DMR, UDI, CAPA, hazard analysis with industry best-practice templates and SaaS deployment; Opcenter Execution Pharma "embeds GAMP methodologies from the ground up" per Siemens collateral.
Analyst recognition: Gartner Magic Quadrant for MES - Leader for the sixth consecutive time in the 2023 evaluation (Rick Franzosa, Christian Hestermann, 26 April 2023). Mendix - Leader in 2025 Gartner Magic Quadrant for Enterprise Low-Code Application Platforms. IDC MarketScape Worldwide MES 2024-2025 Vendor Assessment - Siemens named Leader (doc # US51813624, December 2024). Insights Hub named a Visionary in Gartner's 2022 Magic Quadrant for Global Industrial IoT platforms. Teamcenter - Forrester Wave Leader 2025. Opcenter Quality/IBS QMS recognized in ABI Research Competitive Ranking as a leading QMS player.
Certifications: Siemens AG-level corporate certifications (ISO 9001, ISO 27001) apply broadly. SOC 2 Type 2 status for individual SaaS products such as Teamcenter X is indicated through SaaS hosting. No single consolidated public attestation listing covers every Opcenter product, and per-product SOC 2 and ISO 27001 status is undisclosed.
Leadership: Tony Hemmelgarn (President and CEO, Siemens Digital Industries Software, in role since October 2016); Cedrik Neike (Member of Managing Board of Siemens AG and CEO of Digital Industries parent segment); Tobias Lange (SVP MOM, Digital Manufacturing within Siemens DI SW); Roland Busch (President and CEO of Siemens AG). Thought leadership via ISPE Pharma 4.0 SIG and Validation 4.0 working group participation; ISPE GAMP guides are co-authored across the industry.
Siemens publishes earnings releases quarterly via siemens.com/ir and issues frequent press releases (often weekly) through press.siemens.com. Pharma narrative anchors on three themes: "Digital Twin for Pharma," "Pharma 4.0," and "Xcelerator portfolio."
Conference presence: Siemens Realize LIVE (Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific - flagship user conference), Hannover Messe (annual), SPS Nuremberg (annual). ISPE/INTERPHEX presence largely via partners IndX, Capgemini, TCS, and AG Solution. Website/portal: sw.siemens.com (formerly plm.automation.siemens.com) provides product pages, blog content with version-by-version what's-new posts, and references library at references.siemens.com.
Headquarters
Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Founded
1847 (179 years in business)
Company Size
5000+ employees
Type
Public
Owned by unknown
Annual Revenue
Not Disclosed (2026)
Stock Ticker
$SIEGY (OTC), SIE.DE (Frankfurt Stock Exchange)Office Locations
Global Reach
200 countries